Back to Events

Book launch ‘On civilian harm’

In today’s conflicts, civilians continue to be harmed in large numbers: they may lose loved ones, become injured, lose their homes or sources of income, or suffer potentially long-term psychological trauma. Preventing and understanding civilian harm in its broadest sense, as encompassing more than merely the ‘wounded and dead’, is vital in the practice of protecting civilians from the negative effects of violent conflict.

On June 17, 2021, PAX’s Protection of Civilians team kindly invites you to participate in the launch of its book ‘On civilian harm’. The book directs attention to the broader negative impact that violent conflict and international interventions can have on civilians. Join us for the launch, where the authors and various civilian harm experts will discuss civilian harm in contemporary conflict, the need for and the relevance of the publication, and the lessons the book offers for security actors, policy makers and practitioners around the world.

You can watch and participate in the book launch via the livestream from the Bleyenberg studio in The Hague, the Netherlands. You can register for this event via the registration button.

About this event

Date of event:

June 17, 2021

Time:

15:00 – 17:00 CEST (Amsterdam)
9.00-11.00 am EDT (New York)
09.00-11.00 pm CST (Beijing)

Location:

Digital (Zoom)

More about the book 'On Civilian Harm'

Program

Latest publications about this event

All media types
  • All media types
  • News
  • Podcasts
  • Reports
  • Videos
  • Events
  • Infographics
news
Toward a shared understanding of civilian harm
report
Case 1 "On Civilian Harm": Siege tactics

Other events

Back to Events

June 1, 2020
PoC week event: Training for the protection of civilians
October 28, 2020
Improving gender-sensitive capacities for PoC in UN peacekeeping training
November 2, 2020
Engaging Local Populations as Partners in UN Peacekeeping